Tags

, ,

I haven’t posted my latest reads in a while, but I have been reading! Maybe I’ve just been reading so much that I don’t have time for such frivolous pursuits as blogging. At least, that’s what I like to think. :)

20140503-153043.jpg
“The Jungle,” by Upton Sinclair. This book took me quite a while to wade through. It’s a horrifying account of the grotesque realities of the meat industry in Chicago in America’s early years, and also it retells the brutality of life for a family of immigrants that was lured to America with the promise of big wages. This book played a big part in the meat industry revolution in America, and I’m glad to have read it, and even more glad that I’m done with it. The writing style is gripping, and the content may well turn your stomach.

20140503-153411.jpg
“The Littles,” by John Peterson. This is a silly tale of a family of mice-like human creatures, and the way they survive in a world of big people. Cute and charming.

20140503-153614.jpg
“Garlic and Sapphires,” by Ruth Reichl. If “The Jungle” turns your stomach with its brutality, this book may very well turn your stomach too, but for much more delicious reasons. Written by the New York Times food critic, this book humorously relates the story of going undercover to get a better sample of what New York’s finest restaurants are like for ordinary people. It is full of outrageous wigs, mouthwatering food descriptions, glamorous restaurants, and the crazy people that make up our world, all written in a most captivating style. I definitely recommend this book to anyone wanting a fun and delicious read.

20140503-154140.jpg
“The Tale of Despereaux,” by Kate DiCamillo. Need I say more? What a heroic little mouse, what true love, what a classic villain, and what pretty illustrations this fairy tale contains.

20140503-154313.jpg
“The Good Day Mice,” by Carol Beach York. I seem to have a thing for stories about mice lately, don’t I? This is an old book which I picked up recently, mostly for its antiquity, but the story ended up being quite fun as well. A little mouse gets captured by a boy for a pet, and his family risks life and limb to bring him back home. It is a charming story, as mouse stories tend to be.

And that is all for now. Stay tuned for more, because I’m still reading!

